Negativity = Facebook

An epidemic has hit the internet and it’s called Negativity: the pitfall that is Facebook. No more is Facebook a place I can go to read cute or inspirational messages because people now use it as a platform to bitch and moan. Yeah, it’s Monday and you have to work. Guess what? We all do! And we’ll do so again on Tuesday, and Wednesday and you know what? Some people will even do so on a Saturday or Sunday. It’s become pathetic. Boy wants girl, girl wants girl, boy cries about it all day long on his timeline. Do these people read about what’s really going on in the world? Our economy has gone to hell, third world countries are being blown away, and people want to cry because someone didn’t play nice with them on the playground. The problem is, we’re all like 30, so we shouldn’t be on the playground anyways. While I’m typing this, I’m reading posts from random friends on Facebook in which three people in the last 5 minutes are complaining about how much their lives “suck”. And it’s not their fault, it’s the rest of the world’s. Two relationships have ended and low and behold one of them has already started back up again! The last time I checked, Facebook was for connecting with friends, not a place to score sympathy votes. I didn’t go to school to be a psychiatrist, so why should I have to be subjected to read your ridiculous whining? I’m not your doctor, I’m not your mother, and in all honesty, I really don’t care. I honestly think there are some people on Facebook who can’t say anything positive. And people eat this stuff up! Someone will post one of the most childish things on their status update, and 40 people will click “like”. Here’s an idea for you, how about next to the “like” button, we put a “don’t give a damn” button. My computer would probably crash just from me pushing that one so much!

Clint Daniels 

This entry was posted in Be My Guest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

